Door Number 48

Copyright©2012

Hi There!

What should I write next? I guess I will let the words come to me.

For some strange reason the number 48 started to following me around; I mean it is there all the time, per example the other day I went to buy some stuff at the supermarket and when it was time to pay it was 48 dollars what I needed to pay. I went to my car and while I was putting everything inside I saw a guy wearing a t-shirt that had written on the back 48. For some reason my mom asked me the time when we arrived home and it was 7:48; coincidence? I really don’t think so.  Then, that night I decided to start a game around the number 48. That night when I was thinking about the game that I wanted to create and to play I came across to one of my favorite books, Open House and I opened it on the 48 page; curious thing, after the first sentence of that page there it was written: “You have a pencil?” WOW! That’s what I said, does this mean something? and guess what; later on that night my sister asked me: “Do you have a pencil?” At that moment I decided to continue with that same game and same book. So I opened it on the 48 page and I started counting word for word until I got to the 48 word of that page and the word was lot the words that followed it were about you; so does that mean something? So I continued counting until I got to a new 48 word and the word was already but what caught my eye while reading was the following sentence after already: But I will get back on track right now and other word that caught my eye that almost followed that sentence was phone, but maybe was because the phone rang at that moment. It was for me, on the other side of the line was Nick calling me to remind me not to forget to bring the essay for English tomorrow because if I didn’t go back to be on track on that class I will see myself in lots of trouble. So I left the 48 behind me and I started working on that paper. On the following day there it was again the 48; At math class for some strange reason all the results ended in 48 and the class ended two minutes earlier that day so it lasted only 48 minutes. Then I thought; this number 48 is trying to tell me something. That night I picked up a new book, another favorite of mine, Eat Pray Love, I opened it on the 48 page and the first word was headline, but this time around instead of looking to see what it was the 48 word I went to find in the kitchen today’s newspaper. I read and read until something caught my eye, it was in the ads section that said: I’m looking for the 48 muse, are you her? Come and find me at the 48street. Today is the following day and I’m at the door that belongs to the ad, I wonder was on the other side, do you dare to tell me?

Published by: sserrat

I'm the new black, but in color and that color is all the words that come up from inside my head. Fact: This Blog is for me to feel like a real writer. It's just like the feeling that the characters from the movie "you got mail" felt when those words appeared on the screen, that's how I feel when I clicked on P.U.B.L.I.S.H.E.D. That's just a great feeling. I can't see myself no writing in the sense of forever. Writing is magic and when you read me becomes true and when you comment starts to scream. I just love it. A place to be, to let myself go.

Categories English, post, Short StoryTags, , , , , Leave a comment

Your comment matters; helps us grow, helps me

